You know you’ve connected to a poem when you quote it on every form of social media you use

I’ve been trying to stick to my promise and work harder at school now.  Unfortunately this hasn’t left a lot of time for me to think about much else or blog (but somehow I still find the time to troll Tumblr and Facebook?  Riddle me that, Batman).  But while slaving away over probability equations, useless Psychology terms and Cold War American poetry, I came across a poem I’m now doing a close reading of for my Lit class.  It’s Mary Oliver’s “When Death Comes”.  You should give it a read, it’s fairly short and it really drew me in (which is more than I can say for the majority of the poems I’ve been reading for that class).

I’m not going to go all analytical about that (that’s what my close reading, which I’m doing a very good job at putting off, is for) but I will leave you with the line that really cinched it for me.  It’s the final line and left me saying, “…exactly.”

I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.

Leave a Reply

